The Bread of Life

http://bible.us/59/jhn6.0.esv Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” I woke up this morning praying that God would give me my daily bread, purposefully setting time aside to be spiritually fed before shoveling breakfast into my mouth, which often isn’t this case. (What can I say…I love food! And I love breakfast. A little too much sometimes…) And this is how He answered, with you version’s verse of the day. I love our God. I love that He is merciful and sometimes, answers crystal clear just to remind us He’s listening, He cares, and anything we ask according to His will, He will grant. And this bread, it satisfies. It promises more than the best prepared breakfast ever could, which only leaves me empty and craving more mere hours later. But this bread fills us for eternity, if only we’ll be filled of Him. And yet, like manna from heaven, the Father commands us to ask for daily bread. He gives us just enough for the present day, that tomorrow we will seek Him all over again. Why? He wants to be known. He wants us to draw near to Him. “What is man that you are mindful of him?” This God, grander and more glorious than we will ever comprehend, mercifully invites us feeble, undeserving sinners to know Him through His Son, the bread of life. What a great God that is. Let Him fill you with the bread of life today!

2 thoughts on “The Bread of Life

  1. forestmtnhike says:

    Amen. He’s the morning manna, the only qualified to fill us up. May we eat of Him as the bread of life- the heavenly manna, every morning of every day. Tamera, thank you for sharing this post, it’s so sweet!
    ~Rose

  2. Marlon Katsigazi says:

    Indeed Christ is the bread of life. We shall not hunger or thirst emotionally. He feeds and guards the soul making it healthy. A healthy soul filled with His presence adds bountiful meaning to our lives. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

